USEF Honors AHA Members at Annual Meeting


Photos by Adam Brennan

As shared by Arabian Horse Association.

We wanted to take a moment to extend our heartfelt congratulations to all our members who were honored at this year’s USEF Annual Meeting. Your dedication and talents have truly shown, showcasing the Arabian breed on a national stage. We are incredibly proud of all your achievements.



During the Award Dinners, we witnessed remarkable successes that we would like to highlight. Heir’s Noble Love was notably nominated for Horse of the Year, representing a significant accomplishment in itself. Moreover, several of our esteemed members received Horse of the Year awards, underscoring the excellence within our community.



At the Pegasus Awards, we celebrated the outstanding contributions of individuals who have made a lasting impact on the equestrian world. We are delighted to announce the following winners:

Lifetime Achievement Award Winner: Cecile Hetzel Dunn


Criteria: Awarded to the horseman or woman whose “lifetime experience and accomplishments in the equestrian world exemplify uncommon devotion to the sport of competition with horses and whose equestrian career and horsemanship have continually elevated the sport’s excellence.” With a special emphasis on length of service and a broad industry impact. This award can only be won once by an individual. The USEF National Officers select the recipient.

Sallie Busch Wheeler Prize for Distinguished Service to Equestrian Sport: Deborah Johnson


Selection of Winner: To be decided at the discretion of the President of USEF. The winner is announced at the Pegasus Awards Dinner during the annual meeting.

Pegasus Medal of Honor:
Nancy Harvey

Criteria: Created as an annual award to recognize individuals who have exhibited outstanding service to horses and the sport through their dedication. These individuals have excelled in attracting people to the sport and contributing to horse sport by advancing its popularity. The USEF National Officers select the recipients.

Ruth O’Keefe Meredith Memorial Trophy Junior Equestrian of the Year: Marin McKee

Ms. O’Keefe was a valued member of the Federation and a nationally recognized figure in the horse showing world. She was awarded the Walter B. Devereux Memorial trophy, the Federation’s prestigious award. In April of 1985 the Board of Directors of the Federation established the Ruth O’Keefe Meredith Memorial Trophy for the Junior Equestrian of the Year.

Criteria: Awarded to a junior member of the Federation in good standing who:

  • Has competed at one or more USEF-recognized competitions during the last year
  • Personifies the virtues of honor, courage, patience, good temper, unselfishness, and sincerity
  • Exhibits the qualities of good sportsmanship and integrity
  • Exemplifies exceptional talent and dedication to the sport; and shows compassion for horses and horse welfare

Richard E. McDevitt Award of Merit: Bill Hughes

Awarded posthumously for meritorious service to equestrian sport.

Bill Robinson Trophy:
Shannon Price-Heald

Recognition of any horse or pony breed shown in harness or for driving performance in non-international competitions.

Barbara Worth Oakford Trophy: Colby Powell


Recognition of any horse or pony breed shown in a non-reining Western discipline

Vaughn Smith Trophy:
Duane Esser

Recognition of any horse or pony breed in Hunter Pleasure, Hunter Pleasure on the Flat, Show Hack, Hunter Hack, Dressage Hack, Costume, Side Saddle, or Western Dressage.

Your achievements and contributions to the equestrian community are truly commendable, and we are privileged to have you as part of our organization. Once again, congratulations on your well-deserved recognition.